Practicum 2: Finnegan Begin Again

Week one of second practicum is over, and the only thing I can think to say about it is that it has been SO DIFFERENT. I am so much more calm and comfortable, and the environment in a core classroom is so much more…stable. I always know what ought to be happening, and I know all my kids’ names, and it is GREAT.

The workload is less great. I am in charge of a combined fractions and decimals unit (I’m in a 4-5 split) and I’m also working with the grade 5 kids for their novel study, next week, I’ll start teaching gym (eeps) and I’ll take on my AT’s grade 1 health class as well. I think we’ll be doing safety. Should be fun! I’m having to be super conscious of the time that I spend working, to make sure that I a) get my stuff done, b) remember to eat, and c) don’t die of panic (I’m a bit of a perfectionist, and having to leave some things at “good enough” gives me a bit of a crawly feeling.) If this is me in week one, I’m a little nervous to see me in week four.

Nonetheless, I’m still really enjoying myself – I’ve given some great lessons, already got a chance to use the smartboard (so cool), and am starting to get a good idea of the kids’ personalities. I’m looking forward to improving on some of the things I tried this week – my AT is super supportive and her advice is great. We’ll see how I handle the extra lesson planning…fortunately I’ve found some great resources to lighten the load a little.

Also, I’m not sure what it means that every time I think about it, I start singing this:

There once was a man named Michael Finnegan / He had whiskers on his chinnegan / Pulled them out but they grew in again / Poor old Michael Finnegan, begin again!

 

Leave a Reply

